Hip Guide to USA > Reviews > Destinations
Write A New Review | Comment on this Review | Printer Friendly Page Print Review

Corvallis, Oregon

Corvallis has a lot of hippies. There are so many coffee shops and bookstores to see them at. The waterfront is a wonderful place to sit and enjoy if you are a hippy.


More Info:

Address:
City:
Postcode:
Phone:
Fax:
Added: December 8th 2001

Hits: 5903
Language:

  


Posted by stareye on 2006-04-13 09:06:37
My Score:
Corvallis has always been a college town - OSU used to be called a Cow college because of the agricultural program.. and generally was conservative in its approach with its concentration on science, forestry, engineering etc. compared to Eugene with its concentration on arts, music, humanities etc. I've heard UofO called the University of California in Eugene because of all the long hair, bare feet etc. Its odd living in a college town because so many of the students leave for the summer and its quiet and peaceful and then in the fall 10,000 teenagers and people in their early twenties all show up for school and parties. Because of the school there are musicians and theater and such that wouldn't go to such a small town otherwise. There has been a community formed around a very good and long lived food co-op. There have been hip type businesses like the Grass Roots bookstore and the Old World Coffee house that have suvived a while. Corvallis is generally not hip but can be very pleasant, beautiful and comfortable - at least that was my experience for six years.

Posted by To: Hippy Wannabe Beater on 2005-12-05 03:22:40
My Score:
I just don't get it- I am reading comments speaking of people as if one represents all. It is like saying one black person is representative of them all. How rude, insensitive, uncaring, and unjust! I belive that you would want to be seen as an individual- right? Also, I have met many kinds of people- it is not what you look like or smell like but rather how you treat other people. I would rather spend my time with a smelly hippy rather than be with someone like you! Corvallis is beautiful!

Posted by Bigfoot on 2005-10-24 10:20:04
My Score:
I am moving to Corvallis in a week. I have lived in Ashland for a year, and although I found it a very charming town, it is mostly a retirement community. I had lived in Arcata, California for eight years prior, and was seeking a change in my life, so I moved to Ashland. I have found Corvallis to be a very nice community with a beautiful college campus. The town reminds me of a New England town with all of its brick buildings and beautiful trees. I felt a good energy in the town with many friendly people and a strong sense of community. Corvallis seems like a forward-thinking place that is down-to-earth, safe, and an all-around comfortable place to be. I had looked into Eugene, but it felt a little too large for me, so Corvalis seems just right with about 50,000 people. I am looking forward to living there and being a part of the town. I am glad there are places like Corvallis that have a strong community of open-minded folks who care about one another, their town,and the planet they live on.

Posted by WhoNeedsNames? on 2005-10-17 21:24:55
My Score:
Corvallis is great. All of Oregon is. Eugene, Portland, Ashland. Why speak bad of hippies? We dont really cause any trouble, as long as you dont see it as trouble. I love drum circles and the works. Everybody I know is clean, showers regularly, and has a job. If you dont like hippies, ignore us. If you're a hippie, go to Bend. The Pea Pod Glass and Espresso shop, to be exact. It's great. Drum circles every wednesday, AWESOME Mate, organic coffee and tea, and everything else. Art Hops, open Mics, ect. 541-617-5330.

Posted by HippyWannabe Beater on 2005-09-18 10:09:18
My Score:
All you hippies, get rid that nasty smell of petuli and weed incense. You all need to bathe more often. And then you'll get more respect. Everythings not free,you dumb ass moochers. Give and you shall recieve. UNDERSTAND? AND GET A JOB!!!!!!!

Posted by Rose on 2005-06-09 22:19:50
My Score:
I am not exactly sure about the town, but I am from a really painfully small town in Kansas (Eudora anyone?) and I am looking for a bit of relaxation for college. A friend recommended Oregon, but I am not having a good time searching for "hip colleges" does anybody know which colleges are relaxed, tolerant of different lifestyles, and have hippies in abundance? Thanks- SkipperMcJoJo@aol.com, i don't check this much.

Posted by NHbPa on 2005-04-21 17:34:23
My Score:
I would say that Corvallis has elements of snobs, cops, hippies, freaks, families and all. When I am downtown, I seem to notice lots of homeless folk, and when I am nice to any of them, they just want my money or a free smoke-out. I understand how hard it can be not having a home or job, but jeez...I'm being drained. I came from the midwest and you must understand... Corvallis, Eugene and Portland are heaven to a person like me, who came to escape the stupidity of the Republican, sit-back-and-take-it Midwest. Be thankful that you are in a community of people who are aware...

Posted by Nancy Fierra on 2004-09-13 12:38:19
My Score:
Actually the town council and many of the people are Hippy cool. I lived there for a long time and I did encounter some snobs like you would in any town. However, give it credit for being the ONLY place in the Pacific Northwest that has an antidiscrimination against gay written into the town laws! Lovely downtown and many places to explore nature.

Posted by Lee on 2004-09-05 05:44:12
My Score:
I live in Corvallis, and this is Mayberry R.F.D... Not a hippie friendly city in my book...The cops are nazis, and the locals are snobs....I lived on Maui for most of my 20's and there is a truly hippie friendly place at least for me it was...After Jerry died at lot of kids from the shows came over changed the vibe, and the locals got pissed... Corvallis is EXPENSIVE, and we are going to move in the next few months...Not many jobs, and not cheap.. namaste

Posted by Mollie on 2004-06-26 20:27:45
My Score:
Corvallis is very much a university town in a lot of ways, but really laid back and nice. There's a resteraunt there called "Nearly Normals" that serves vegetarrian food and it's the best place in the world. There are a lot of really pretty parks, and the feeling on the streets is just friendly. The Saturday market isn't quite as awesome and Eugene, but there's a sweet farmers market with people set up playing their music and just a lot of neat people. If you want the cool saturday market, Eugene's only like 40 minutes South anyways.

Posted by floyd on 2004-05-17 22:35:56
My Score:
I lived in Eugene in 1999-2000 and it was mostly a drag because I couldn't find a job and the the Eugene house hippies seemed to be nothing more than a bunch of snobby conformists. The only kind people that I seemed to meet where the kids traveling through town. Since then I have been on the road and living in Hawaii. Is Corvallis truly a good place for a young couple of dready freaks to settle down? Will I be respected or dissed when I walk through downtown? Is land affordable near there? Is there a Saturday market scene like Eugene. Are there any street musicians or is Corvallis too small for that. Can you hang out with the fam without being harrased by the police? I need a better place to call home. Taos, New Mexico is depressing me. Can I find a hip community that is not tied together by the shallowness of the drug scene. My journey on the golden road was not fueled by a desire to be artificially high. Please respond. Peace and Respect.

Posted by OSU81 on 2004-02-18 16:58:32
My Score:
What happened to the beautiful little town of Corvallis? 20 or so years ago Oregon state University had the nickname of "Oregon straight". Corvallis was considered conservative, especially compared to Eugene. Did ya'll hippie types move up from Eugene into town?

Posted by Emma on 2003-07-27 02:03:16
My Score:
Corvallis is great. Watch out for the cops though.
cause there sure are a lot of them.

Posted by Sauce on 2003-06-17 17:12:00
My Score:
I loved this dirty hippie town. Me and Mrs. Sauce always found time for some frisbee golf and drum circles. Long live petuli and long live Cormac!

Text searchbox
Search For Hotels
Destination
Check-in date
Check-out date
     Categories Menu
· All Categories
· Destinations
· Entertainment
· Hotels
· Restaurants
· Shopping

     Recent Articles
· Los Angeles Top 10 Attractions
· San Diego Attractions
· The Layover San Francisco
· Map of the United States of America
· How I got a USA tax receipt for the importation of marijuana
· An Alternative Guide to New York City
· Charleston, South Carolina, Where America’s Civil War Began
· Castro District, San Francisco
· San Francisco Cable Cars
· Alcatraz Island, San Francisco

     Recent Reviews
· Harbour View Inn
· 82 Queen - Authentic Lowcountry Cuisine
· Great American Music Hall
· Slim's
· The Cliff House
· Bimbo's 365 Club
· Annie's Social Club
· Amoeba Music
· Gatip Classic Thai Cuisine
· Parducci Winery





Page Generation: 0.05 Seconds