Hip Guide to USA > Reviews > Destinations
Write A New Review | Comment on this Review | Printer Friendly Page Print Review

Spartanburg, South Carolina

It's a medium size city in Upstate SC. I grew up on the east side with tons of hippies. Our parents were the original flower children and for the most part raised us in true hippie fashion. There isnt a lot for teenagers to do in SPartanburg, but we make do. One of our favorite places to hang out is Pill Hill, a park near the high school. Anyways Spartanburg is a nice city, kind of boring, but definitely full of hippies.


More Info:

Address:
City:
Postcode:
Phone:
Fax:
Added: December 8th 2001

Hits: 2474
Language:

  


Posted by p1_sublime on 2006-08-10 20:13:56
My Score:
ive lived in spartanburg for 22 years and just recently moved from the country (pauline) to downtown spartanburg area and im here to tell you that alot of the new people ive met carry a different line of hippie in them. the sterotype of the worn out clothes and the psycadelic music has worn thin. along with myself and many many others ive met i see a new revolution of hippies or should i say buisness hippies we all have the same ideas, beliefs, and views on life and enjoy simple day to day pleasures. e-mail me if you are from spartanburg and having trouble fitting where you belong andyg@hot-shot.com

Posted by thorn17547 on 2005-12-30 06:50:21
My Score:
help im looking for my long lost daughter sophiea slater .last known living in spartanburg .with her mother venus. please help me i live in pa and can find little up here my email is thorn17547@comcast.net

Posted by Andrew on 2005-11-19 00:18:10
My Score:
hey im a hippie in spartanburg to. someone from here im me and well find somethin to do. sn- unclejonsband283

Posted by bigteninchmule on 2005-11-13 21:16:19
My Score:
i'm a hippie in spartanburg sort of.

Posted by havannaherm on 2005-10-03 23:24:18
My Score:
Yes, we are christian conservitive, yes we are good ole boys, and yes we are proud of our southern heritage, we'll even make our drawl more pronounced just to entertain you. That does'nt mean we don't like to party, we can smoke dope and eat shrooms with the best, if coke is your thing, it's here, we have local, prominent, businessmen making sure. Like the rest of the country meth is everywhere. Yes , we have our hippie community, but in all likelyhood the guy with the short hair can find better quality of what you're looking for. Spartanburg is a great place to live and a great place to raise a family. You will fit right in if you don't try to force liberal views on us. We all have gay friends here, but they don't push it down our throat, there is abortion here, a lot of us believe it is wrong, but we don't condem you for it, you have to live with yourself, no need to rub salt in the wound. If you are looking for like thinkers go to NYC, or the New England area, or the West Coast. We like ourselves the way we are, you are welcome friend, just don't try to force us to change. After all, as you have always heard,"The South will rise Again". Bye now ya'll.

Posted by buddah on 2005-03-31 17:52:30
My Score:
I'm a hippie in Spartanburg born here raised here left for shows from here and will die here

Posted by Michele on 2005-03-02 05:20:41
My Score:
I live in Greenville, and, dude, neither here nor Spartanburg are anything close to hippie. This place is full of conservatives driving their Hummers or massive pick-up trucks (that are so big that they could, by the way, pick up a herd of elephants) and blabbling on about how great Bush is--Spartanburg is about the same, if not a bit more redneck.

Posted by Redneck on 2004-10-30 21:46:14
My Score:
Ya gotta go to the flea market, from the looks of the number of the drug related items i saw they have something they want to hide. They do have a radio station 93.3 the planet. It works for me. Problem is they have a yankie dude thats always trying to out macho everyone he can...anti-gay, smart mouthed the usual stuff, think hes trying to out redneck us, maybe it was the other guy or both. Gas is cheaper than NC. But still not a live cheap, your not going to be able to move in and open a small biz and make big bucks. People in thc carolinas are big on blocking outside biz from moving in.

Posted by on 2004-05-29 21:53:25
My Score:
Spartanburg is NOT hippie. I live in greenville, and as conservative as it is, its more liberal and hippie than spartanburg. I've never seen anyone in spartanburg besides people that absolutely epitomize the southern stereotype. There may be an underground hippie culture, as there used to be one in Greenville a few years ago, before it got completely yuppified, but I have yet to see any hippies in spartanburg.

Posted by tammy on 2003-08-07 20:20:16
My Score:
Hippies in Spartanburg???!!!! You must be joking. I lived there for the longest year of my life and I met a lot of good ol' boys, rednecks and racists. Definitely no hippies though.

Posted by on 2003-03-20 14:35:42
My Score:
Don't know anything about Spartanburg, but be very careful of nearby Greenville, which has a reputation of being very conservative, not to mention being home to the notoriously conservative, backwards, and reactionary bible-thumping Bob Jones University.

Posted by glitterfly on 2002-01-17 20:59:02
My Score:
wow... i live in spartanburg county, but i guess i'm missing out. i never imagined hippies and spartanburg being connected...except maybe...around my area during woodstick =p but i've never attended woodstick so i don't even really know about it...i just know what i've heard from a few friends *shrug*...well, you learn something new everyday. groovy

Text searchbox
Search For Hotels
Destination
Check-in date
Check-out date
     Categories Menu
· All Categories
· Destinations
· Entertainment
· Hotels
· Restaurants
· Shopping

     Recent Articles
· Los Angeles Top 10 Attractions
· San Diego Attractions
· The Layover San Francisco
· Map of the United States of America
· How I got a USA tax receipt for the importation of marijuana
· An Alternative Guide to New York City
· Charleston, South Carolina, Where America’s Civil War Began
· Castro District, San Francisco
· San Francisco Cable Cars
· Alcatraz Island, San Francisco

     Recent Reviews
· Harbour View Inn
· 82 Queen - Authentic Lowcountry Cuisine
· Great American Music Hall
· Slim's
· The Cliff House
· Bimbo's 365 Club
· Annie's Social Club
· Amoeba Music
· Gatip Classic Thai Cuisine
· Parducci Winery





Page Generation: 0.05 Seconds