Hip Guide to USA > Reviews > Destinations
Write A New Review | Comment on this Review | Printer Friendly Page Print Review

The Farm, Tennessee

The Farm, Summertown, Tennessee - This commune founded by hippies including Stephen Gaskin, has pioneered the hippie communal lifestyle.  Check out their website for more info!  For a good history of The Farm see the Vegetarian Times story.


More Info:

Address:
City:
Postcode:
Phone:
Fax:
Added: December 8th 2001

Hits: 6900
Language:

  


Posted by scoliosis-slim on 2007-02-06 06:08:02
My Score:
Yeah when I rolled through there I got a similar response, they really didn't seem to like the young poor hippies, i personaly stay out of that region anyways and with their attitude the farm isnt that groovy a place to go.

Posted by freedom on 2007-01-27 03:59:03
My Score:
i would like to tell you the farm is not a kind place. me any my wife hitch hiked there she was expecting our first child and heard of the midwife school . well we got there and were told that we need lots of cash to be there .so we were stuck and broke and asked if we could work some thing out we were told to kick rocks and that cash makes the world go round and since we didnt have any we had to leave. so yea if uyou are a rich yuppy/kinda hippy then the farm is the place for you

Posted by Megan but call me Zeo on 2006-01-20 21:44:50
My Score:
I moved to Wanyesboro,Tennesse about two years ago from From Hot Springs, Ar and i have always wanted to Vist The Farm b/c i think it would rockn if i could meet some hippies and just chill. I dont know the area very well but if someone could get in touch with me and let me know where it is i would be very greatful. My e-mail is TheLonelyPoet363@yahoo.com and my hotmail is LoSt_LeNoRe333@hotmail.com. Thanks

Posted by Vickie on 2005-11-10 22:29:18
My Score:
I live here, and run The Farm Welcome Center, www.thefarmcommunity.com . This is home for me and 170 other people. Good people and good local neighbors. Good place to raise your kids with likeminded people. Sincerely, Vickie

Posted by on 2005-01-25 05:22:40
My Score:
someone tell me more about this place... what it is?

Posted by Ashley on 2003-12-22 20:34:36
My Score:
The Farm is great!I live about 30 minutes from there.I have grown up going down there.The people are so nice and welcoming.I highly reccomend for people to go there.I went to the Holiday Bazaar last month.I had wonderful time!

Posted by Ben Miler on 2003-08-20 23:09:46
My Score:
A friend that my mother used to know actually lived at The Farm. The Farm has been through a lot, and apparently in its early days, was the target of J. Edgar Hoover (The Farm got started in 1971, but Hoover died in 1972). Also that area of Tennessee had a really ugly past, as that was the area the Ku Klux Klan had its beginnings. Nice to see something far better happen in that area, in the shape of The Farm. Love to be there one day, but since I live in Oregon, I'll have a much higher chance at visiting Breitenbush Hot Springs or the Alpha Farm in Deadwood.

Posted by gaia on 2003-04-19 20:52:02
My Score:
grew up about 10 minutes down the road to Summertown (the Farm) southern hospitality plus fun loving hippies equals a great time for all! The Farm has about three festivals a year that celebrate the changing of seasons, the harvest, and most important of all...LIFE! The folks on the Farm will treat you like their child, teach you many facts on life, especially midwifery. Visitors are welcome...you MUST check in with the gate watchers before entering-we hippies love our privacy

Text searchbox
Search For Hotels
Destination
Check-in date
Check-out date
     Categories Menu
· All Categories
· Destinations
· Entertainment
· Hotels
· Restaurants
· Shopping

     Recent Articles
· Los Angeles Top 10 Attractions
· San Diego Attractions
· The Layover San Francisco
· Map of the United States of America
· How I got a USA tax receipt for the importation of marijuana
· An Alternative Guide to New York City
· Charleston, South Carolina, Where America’s Civil War Began
· Castro District, San Francisco
· San Francisco Cable Cars
· Alcatraz Island, San Francisco

     Recent Reviews
· Harbour View Inn
· 82 Queen - Authentic Lowcountry Cuisine
· Great American Music Hall
· Slim's
· The Cliff House
· Bimbo's 365 Club
· Annie's Social Club
· Amoeba Music
· Gatip Classic Thai Cuisine
· Parducci Winery





Page Generation: 0.05 Seconds