Hip Guide to USA > Reviews > Destinations
Write A New Review | Comment on this Review | Printer Friendly Page Print Review

Austin, Texas

"Austin has the second largest vegetarian population in the nation....along with some great scenery here in the hill country. People should check it out. My older brother lives there, and works as a chef. Almost every night we get 2 or 3 bucks from each of his roommates, head up to Central Market and get tons of fresh fruit, vegetables, etc. - and have a giant veggie-kabob for dinner. It feeds everyone and also provides for a great way to get together at night in the backyard and just hang out. Barton Creek Park is another great hangout - it's a linear park that follows Barton Creek - along the cliff walls there are several caves for exploring... just a totally surreal environment. Everyone in Austin just seems so mellow and content, i wish i could live there - but for now I'll just be happy with visiting...."


More Info:

Address:
City:
Postcode:
Phone:
Fax:
Added: December 8th 2001

Hits: 15458
Language:

  


Posted by Leon Shield on 2007-02-26 21:11:16
My Score:
I grew up in Austin: 1969 to 1999. Live in Dallas now where I was born. There was a bit of a culture shock when I moved to Dallas, but going back to Austin now I see how ridiculous the people there really are. "Keep Austin Weird", what the hell is that? You people need to take a shower with soap and wash your arm pits. Leave the patchouli oil off. Arrest Leslie and the rest of the bums.

Posted by LX Thogg on 2007-02-14 05:01:56
My Score:
for the correct answer to your questions...see the Oatwillie post 2004-06-04.The Man/myth/legend speaks with un-forked tongue and pretty well summarizes Austin better than any post I've read on the site. Keep you nose in the wind.

Posted by Texass on 2007-01-22 20:53:14
My Score:
I moved to Austin with the hopes of finding a laid-back, friendly hippy environment and I a little disappointed with what I've found. I've been here for two years and nearly everyone I've met seem to think they're "too cool for school", unfriendly Mexicans, smug corporate "trendies", punks with low IQ's and the occasional red-neck that only comes to Austin to work but flies back to Cedar Park or whatever other Texan shit-bird town outside the city limits. I know that there is no perfect place, but talk about overrated! I've also heard from many of the older locals that Austin has lost it's soul to the corporate Devil and that's a real shame. So, what am I going to do? I guess I'll just have to deal with it since it's too expensive to move anywhere else right now. There are a few nice things, but I still think Austin is a highly overrated city that caters to corporate lackeys while trying to maintain this "weird" image. Sorry folks!

Posted by Jen on 2006-12-19 04:59:17
My Score:
I just moved to Austin this Month from Connecticut to get away from the cold and I have to say I havent found to much about Austin I dont like. For people who complain about the Mexicans, are you kidding me? They are very hard workers that contribute to Austin, I see them building and landscaping nothing wrong with that they are working hard and the ones I have met are very friendly. Hardworking people are not a problem I cant believe no one has complained about what we see everyday in Austin what is right in front of us every freakin day, the Bums, Pan Handlers begging for money at the bottom of the highway ramps they are everywhere it is getting ridiculous. For those of you who give these people money the majority of them are not down on there luck, they do this for a living and are scam artists, personally I think this makes the city of Austin look bad and says to anyone visiting that living here is tuff. Austin has invested lots of money and resources into shelters and yet they are still on the streets cops dont bug them. It has just gotten ridiculous if you ask me, Im driving go away I dont want these people in my face did you ever wonder how they got to the middle of busy intersections, with there brand new back packs come on people stop being suckers. Some people really do need help put the majority of these people are just scaming you, help keep Austin safe dont keep encouraging these lazy bastards by giving them money.

Posted by Ali on 2006-05-25 02:13:58
My Score:
I've been in Austin forever. Ya, there are assholes but they reside everywhere. You can't control who moves in and out of a city. I love Austin, there really are a lot of cool people. You can't expect to hang out in a bar and meet someone, you have to participate in something. I've never had a problem with people being rude to me or my friends and I have friends of all sexes, races, sizes, et cetera. Take it easy.

Posted by on 2006-04-18 22:04:40
My Score:
Whoever said 'it's all relative' hasn't been in jail much, or visited Mexico or even travelled much in America it would seem to me. If 'it is all relative', why would anyone visit these Hippy Haven pages?

Posted by Austin transplant on 2006-01-09 01:12:06
My Score:
Austin has a few and far between hippi pop. but if you know the nooks and grannies to look for, you'll have no problem finding this sub-culture as they are as prevalent today as yesterday but they just maybe dress a little different. IE. it's in the mind of the hippi that makes him or her who they are! B. faxless loan guy

Posted by Alan on 2005-12-31 18:28:11
My Score:
I remember Austin from my College Days 1973-1977. I came their from the DFW Metroplex. Many things sucked while I was there. Like the construction on the I-35 upper deck. No big arena to draw the Bigger Acts. Youhad to travel to Houston or Dallas for that. But.... many things were very cool in Austin in the 70's.... Armadillo World HQ had many coolbands play there all the time. And KLBJ-FM Radio...... It was not "Classic Rock", with the dreaded shallow playlists of today (GaG!).... But, KLBJ-FM played all kinds of great music, intelligently, withou obnoxious commercials. You could listen all-day-long without being offended!!!!! You would hear Joan Baez in the mornings, and Led Zeppelin in the evenings. Some Frank Zappa, Dave Mason, Michael Murphey, Bob Dylan, Shawn Phillips and Bonnie Raitt too. That's what I'll always remember dearly about Austin..... The Coolest radio station I had ever heard!

Posted by Alma on 2005-12-06 04:33:27
My Score:
So, where ARE all the hippies? I've been here since September, and have seen a bunch, but I'm too shy to go up to them and say, "hey, I'm a hippie, too. Wanna hang out?" I know SoCo and south Austin are the good areas, but where specifically?

Posted by Slaghammer on 2005-11-27 08:33:55
My Score:
Whaaa, I thought Austin was going to be weird like they said it would be. Whaaa, I thought Austin was going to be cool like me. Nobody told me there were going to be republicans with pickups there. Whaaa, I pooped in my pants and they laughed at me in Austin. It's all relative you know. You get what you give. If you don't like it here then move on down the road and quit bitching about it. If you are looking for someone to change your diaper for you, try Abilene TX or Fresno CA. I'm sure somebody will give you a hand. Keep Austin a Crybaby-Free/Get-Your-Dick-Skinners-Out-of-My-Weed Zone.

Posted by Slaghammer on 2005-11-27 08:02:13
My Score:
Bunch of crybabies.

Posted by goinghome on 2005-11-19 20:40:16
My Score:
I certainly wouldn't doubt it. Austin is selling like hot-cakes! ... It's a great commodity to buy into! ... Do it and you'll be cool!

Posted by Dave on 2005-11-10 04:57:32
My Score:
there's a lot of difference of opinion here on austin. it's not without some redeeming qualities, as i'm sure alcatraz is. some people have referred to central market and whole foods as "hippie friendly" food stores.... if $9 for a sandwich is your idea of hippie friendly - oh well. austin had it once, and it aint' got anymore. it is closed minded as hell, and very, very smug. high school-like cliques of people trying to be cool - including people old enough to know better. when you have to relegate your town's spirit to a stupid fucking bumper sticker "keep austin weird" you know it's not weird anymore.....or anything else. wannabe's, polictically correct assholes, in your face dillweeds.

Posted by Native Austinite on 2005-11-09 22:50:30
My Score:
Don't move to Austin. It's crowed, dirty, stinky, mean and no fun at all. Feel free to visit, but don't stay and take at least five people with you when you shut the door. Peace out.

Posted by Kyle on 2005-11-09 01:53:34
My Score:
Austin is a GREAT city! Now, I'm not into Hippies at all, but I came to this site to read reviews. I found it on Google Search. Austin is an AWESOME city! So much to do, great shopping, and it's really nice! Yes, there are some problems, but it's still a great city. Besides the tons of illegal Immigrants pouring into the city, and despite the fact that the city government declared Austin a "Safe Haven" for illegals, it's an awesome city! Ok, so yes, there are some snobs, but there are also a LOT of nice people, so don't hate on Austin!

Posted by themovement on 2005-10-20 22:53:29
My Score:
Austin is almost a cool place. Good grass. Snotty assholes.

Posted by DRay on 2005-10-18 22:03:24
My Score:
I was born (64') and raised in Austin. Lived there for over 40 yrs. then made a decision to move (05') to Maryland........HOLY SHIT! was that a mistake. In a way I'm glad I did it because it has given me the chance to see what I had, and it also has given me the opportunity to share what I know. For example..... If your luckly enough to take a tour too the top of the UT Tower you can still see the bullet holes that were filled in after the infamous charles whitman incident.

Posted by Goinghome on 2005-09-21 23:45:52
My Score:
I whole heartedly agree with one of Jimmy's statements. I have lived in San Antonio for 28 years (God help me...) and get tired of the snooty, personality contests many Austinites will attempt to win at your expense. Someone needs to tell them there's a difference between the 'confidence' they so righteously espouse and just plain bein' an asshole. y'know? "Keep Austin Weird" is a big bumpersticker campaign up there to try and consciously act as "strange" as possible in order to keep the tourists and trendy college students interested. It all seems a bit planned to me. you know what I mean? like someones just sitting there sweatin' trying to be as freaky as possible so people will notice him. I dunno. Maybe it's all the wanna be musicians? Maybe it's the miles and miles (and miles and miles and miles) of conservative, culturally depleated(sp?), wasteland surrounding it? I mean it's cool and all, don't get me wrong, but for the over eager attitude of some of it's residents. Thanks for lettin' me rant. "keep san antonio lame" peace.

Posted by Jimmy on 2005-08-31 08:49:13
My Score:
I love Austin, but here is one thing. They have gotten smug as hell there and really are self-consciously aware of their own hip-ness. BUT---Drive on I-35 and see how "laid back" they are. Jesus freaking Christ---Austinites drive UP YOUR ASS ALL THE TIME and then tell you they are "laid back". Yeah, whatever. I am a Psychologist and behavior speaks to me more than self-pronouncements. I live in Santa Fe now, and YES it is expensive and YES there are a lot of folks from California throwing around too much money and fucking up the economy, but I would take Santa Fe over Austin about 73 times out of 100. (Austin has better music,but that is not to say SF has NONE.......) By the way , in between Austin and SF I lived in Cleveland, Ohio----Cleveland Heights is STILL hip.....

Posted by scottyviaggio on 2005-08-02 20:51:25
My Score:
Hey. I lived in Austin from 86-04, and I loved it. As a previous review wrote, I agree with, I didn't realize how great Austin was when it was. It's more citified now for sure. But that's okay. It's a great city and you will find interesting, open minded people. It's not as over crowded as some cities, and you are very close to some beautiful nature. Someone said that Austin is a bit superficial, and that may be true. It might be accurate to say that many cities have eschewed their hippydom to a certain extent. I actually can't think of a RADical city. Activism is not popular now. If you know of one, let me know: realguy000@yahoo.com ps. When i visited flagstaff last year, it reminded me of old Austin to a certain degree.

Posted by ............ on 2005-07-03 08:23:38
My Score:
Yes we most certainly have an illegal alien problem. I have no problem with hispanics, but I do have a problem with illegals who leave their wife and kids behind in mexico. They don't send money back. I've worked with several at restaurants and they never even talk to their families. And why would you, when there are tons of women to leer at in Austin. To me, they ruin some of the cool things about austin, like hippie hallow. They don't even attempt to speak english and they constantly stare at women. And it's said to say, they increase the crime rate. Don't believe me? look it up. It would be really easy to control our borders, but America won't. The labor is too cheap. And nobody can complain, because then you're deemed a racist. Ok enough ranting...move to austin, or little mexico as I like to call it.

Posted by jeremy on 2005-06-30 04:20:29
My Score:
Austin is cool but the cops are abusive, racist, drunk shitheads.If you can avoid the shitheads you will have a good time. Mexicans add to the wonderful diversity that makes austin. Without them, austin wouldnt be austin. We have our problems like anywhere else but a number of backgrounds and colors are guilty of that.My wife and I call it a 'liberal oasis amongst a sea of red'.

Posted by Steve on 2005-06-25 12:43:08
My Score:
Only been once but found the people friendly,lot's to do and the music fantastic

Posted by SPok on 2005-06-06 07:08:59
My Score:
TO MOST of the people that posted here .... You sound like a bunch of foul mouthed un-intelligent crack headed/meth low=lives who DO NOT respect each other. You are why the US has so many problems. its full of people like you. ok people... .at the count of 5 ... everybody "RESPECT EACHOTHER"... 5 seconds after that... think about what is "THE RIGHT THING". if your a Spick, a nigga, or a hick, NOW DO THE RIGHT THING. CHANGE YOUR WAYS.. GANGSTA AINT KOOL No MO. AMERICA ... .remember ? Imagine. Peace !

Posted by Carolyn on 2005-05-25 20:22:14
My Score:
the drag is the best place to hang ooooouuttt i love austin its so fuckn AWESOME

Posted by edz on 2005-05-02 18:42:57
My Score:
dudessssss, chill out please austin is cool. We do have fucked up shit here thats just dumb as hell like racist and stupid ghetto people who always want to fight but the solution is to chill the fuck out. The only problems is us fucked up people so do the right thing chill the fuck out or take a gun to your fuckin head and pull the fuckin trigger.

Posted by hippiestead on 2005-03-30 07:29:09
My Score:
Sometimes you find what you're looking for and sometimes you don't; sometimes it's the amount of good vibe you put into looking. Austin is getting much too large to retain it's homeyness, but many good things happen. Check out Eeyore's B-day Party in April; it throws a good example of Austin weirdness. Lots of kind folks lay low within the city walls, mainly around UT & south austin, but many have migrated, both west and east. Keep looking & leave a trail of peace, love & happiness!

Posted by x on 2005-03-19 02:23:46
My Score:
to the one complaining about illegal aliens, tell me..... how is a global community established when everyone is separated by borders?Love your neighbor people or kill yourself, maybe your the problem. no hard feelings

Posted by Sadlit on 2004-12-25 05:04:52
My Score:
I have lived in austin eight years and then moved away to NYC for three years. During the initial eight years i lived here i think i took everything for granted, there were more hippies then than there are now, tons more, you'd need a stick to maneauver your way through them, also more punks, a special type of punk with cowboy hat and cowboy boots and yes this was before rob zombie and the mass media made it the norm for the rest of the country. well, i moved away to the big city, thoroughly austinified although i did not know it. i searched for a nyc that no longer existed, kerouac's city, o'hara's city, that of pollac, the lower east side, everything i loved and read of in books. when i got there it didn't take me long to find out the scene was dead, thoroughly dead, nothing, nothing of it is left, not in any of the boroughs, not brroklyn, not queens. And then after three years, actually several times throughout the three years it occurred to me, all these guys were pushed out of nyc by big money, it started in the fifties and ended in the late eighties, solidifed itself in the nineties. but the beauty is now in other cities of which austin is one of them. i just moved back, astonished by the beauty of the natural landscape, the openess of the people i talk to that don't have imaginary boxes over their heads like they do in the big apple. Really, although many of the hippies are gone (I think they just cut their hair and are still continuing their idealism but without having to need a uniform, and even the counter-culture falls prey to believing in uniforms) there is still an individualist idea of freedom here. Room to breathe, experiment with your life, fuck up, learn from your mistakes, move on. This, i think is the real beauty of the place, you can always reinvent yourself, recreate your life and no one will judge you, force. So it is good to be back, if anyone wants to move here I think its important to know that if anything is expected of you is a contribution, you too should live your dream, love and fulfill, but do not exploit.

Posted by WETBACKLUVR! on 2004-12-15 01:28:38
My Score:
LONG LIVE THE WETBACKS! AHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHHAHAHAHA

Posted by wetbacks get out! on 2004-11-08 02:13:41
My Score:
First of all, I'm white, and my girlfriend is black, so I want to make that clear before you read on. I really wish Austin was what all of you bleeding hearts think it is, but the truth is, that we're being invaded by illegal aliens, mainly from Mexico. It's destroying our city, and our country as a whole. Just look at the crime rate for car burglaries alone. APD agrees that it is illegal aliens who are mostly responsible for it, and it's raging rampant here. They have no respect for us, or the beauty of our country, leaving trash like beer cans, old appliances, torn up furniture, and other garbage everywhere, and they drive drunk constantly, and yes with their own children in their vehicles. They play Tejano music at peak volumes at all hours of the day, completely disrespecting citizens who are trying to sleep, and those racist ex-mayors Gus Garcia and Kirk Watson have declared Austin a safe haven for illegals, meaning they won't deport them from here, so it just gets worse and worse every year. I commend those of you who didn't vote this year, because neither presidential candidate will even acknowledge this problem, in fear of losing the Hispanic vote. What total pussies!! WE ARE BECOMING A THIRD WORLD COUNTRY!! THE BORDERS ARE WIDE OPEN!! WAKE UP YOU FUCKING IDIOTS!! BLACKS, ASIANS, MIDDLE EASTERNERS, AND CANADIANS ARE NOT THE PROBLEM!! IT'S ILLEGAL MEXICANS, AND THEY NEED TO BE STOPPED, BY WHATEVER MEANS!!!!! For those of you who will never be convinced, and that say they only come here looking for a better way of life, I'm all for that, but it's the lack of respect they show towards us that's the reason for my and other's anger. Even Mexican Americans agree with us! People say, "these people bust their ass working here at jobs that Americans won't take!" Well guess what?! They could live just fine in Mexico, IF THEY DIDN'T HAVE SO MANY MOUTHS TO FEED!! STOP HAVING SO MANY KIDS, AND YOU WON'T BE FORCED TO SLAVE LABOR TO FEED THEM!! 1 TO 2 KIDS IS FINE! 4 TO 6 IS COMPLETE IRRESPONSIBILITY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! TO THE SYMPATHIZER! YOUR PROBLEM IS THAT YOU DON'T HAVE TO LIVE NEAR THEM, SO YOU DON'T SEE THE PROBLEM!! I'll respond to anyone who doesn't agree, and if I think of anything else, I'll be sure and post it. WAKE UP PEOPLE!!

Posted by Willie Oatus on 2004-08-17 07:41:23
My Score:
man, austin rocks. to all you who think austin has posers. you my friend, are the true poser. if you cant take a walk in the park and realize the true beauty we ar based on, then you have no idea what purity and peace are. if all your focused on is smoking weed and acting stupid, wake up! the world is a beautiful place and austin has many very intruiging scenes. but sometimes work and buiseness take over that beauty and we need a little help to bring out the naturality austin still preserves. next time you visit, take a seat and look up at the sky and the beautiful oak trees, before you be so hateful. remember! peace, love and happiness! peace out.

Posted by not very much to do on 2004-08-08 23:41:39
My Score:
Gotta say, Austin isn't all that great a place if you don't enjoy drinking, dancing, dining, hiking, canoeing, sailing, caving, waterskiing, climbing, arts and crafts, listening to music, reading, coffee shops, biking, sporting events, gaming, shopping, smoking, studying, geocaching, or about a million other lame things like that!

Posted by bj28 on 2004-07-26 09:27:42
My Score:
man, i totally agree with disolated austinite. you hit this town right on.

Posted by disolated austinite on 2004-07-15 05:53:59
My Score:
Well, I think austin is ok. I wish there were more beatiful hot latin women around here that's for sure. I'm not racist, but when blacks go with blacks, whites go with whites, and mexicans go with mexicans; and you're not one of those three categories, it's hard to really be happy. As far as going to places to have fun and meet people I would rate it a 2 out of 10. Six Street sucks! I hate all of the bars. Hippies are cool but I stoped smokin. Maybe that's why I am so bored and pissed off. I just wish there was more hot women that were cooler and didn't have 3 kids by the time they were 21. Well, I guess I have some alchohol to drink and let time go by so that I can get the hell out of this town whenever I can if ever.

Posted by christy on 2004-07-01 02:39:45
My Score:
hey guys....... I HAVE A penis...and a vagina.. its called hermaphrodite... i named him hermy..... and they fuck me ..... all niiiighttttt looooong.....OHhooohOOhOOPOH yeh.... we are open to anyone who wants to join.... well me and hermy are, but the other one doesnt know about it. she's kind of a pussy. HAHAH GET IT??!?!?!? oh yeh.... austin rocks! keep it weird

Posted by Courtney on 2004-07-01 02:34:53
My Score:
ok well, i dont know about fagbashers, or posers .... i live in austin and it is a wonderful place to live. I FUCKIN LOVE IT so if you have a prolblem, suck my CUNT. i DONT FUCKIN CARE WHAT YOU THINK I LOVE MY CITY AND MY STATE. ok well, peace love and happiness to you all! FUCK HEADS

Posted by Oat Willie on 2004-06-04 15:42:54
My Score:
In the '70s Austin was really a 'Groover's Paradice' as the song goes. Since then, the Californicator tech assholes have ruined the place. A real hippie would skip off this town fast, if looking for a laid back lifestyle. The hippies of the fabled period when the Armadillo World Headquarters and Soap Creek were the best music venues, have long gone. What remains of them still in town are homosexuals, overwhelmed Earth-mothers raising the last of their kids, sell-outs to the real estate business and other forlorn losers. Austin is a classic case of left coast opportunists destroying what was once wonderful. The hippies of 'old Austin' have headed for the hills and now live an hour or two to the west. There are places there where they still congregate but I would never reveal them here! If you are young and seek that fabled hippie life style you must do more homework. The answer is no longer Austin. You have a good chance of sucess if you can support yourself away from large business centers and residential housing devevopments. Searching for a hippie lifestyle in a traffic congested city is a waste of time. Like looking for them at Haight - Ashbury in S. F. To any of you who really know of what I speak then the message remains as before, " Onward Through the Fog"

Posted by F.B.U. on 2004-02-27 23:39:35
My Score:
to the sub-human piece of filth who calls ITSELF shadow: you will be found in dallas, and beaten into oblivion, with many steel toes. you think you have the right to adopt children and train them in your sickening ways. it's time to save our children and wipe out the existence of your kind! gutterpunk you say. try gutterspunk! this filth-filled hole called austin, has been spawned from the town created from shit called dallas where you lie in your own soiled sheets. it's over for you. change your ways now or be crushed! FAGBASHERS UNITE! FAGBASHERS UNITE! FAGBASHERS UNITE!

Posted by photoman on 2004-02-20 19:50:32
My Score:
will be in austin for month of march http://www.nvo.com/gkentphotograph

Posted by photoman on 2004-02-20 19:50:02
My Score:
will be in austin for month of march http://nvo.com/gkentphotograph

Posted by JareemWeaver on 2004-02-09 11:09:02
My Score:
I'm gonna be in Austin for a month over the SXSW music festival but I don't know a soul there. So if any of you(minus the gay bashers) would wanna be cool enough to check some bands out with me some night it'd be greatly appreciated. I don't mind rockin' it by myself, but rockin' it by myself every night would kinda suck. If ya wanna e-mail me it's jareemweaver@yahoo.com

Posted by CosmicCatSunflower on 2004-01-15 20:30:29
My Score:
hey, chill.... whats wrong with your heads guys? Peacexxxxxxx

Posted by pissedgutterqueen on 2004-01-15 00:57:21
My Score:
you poser ass bitches F Bitch U!!!! you aint nothin but a stoner republican faciest capitilist conformist......a hippy, punk, or anything else considered to be a free thinking movement...has to be that FREETHINKING.....you cant be a homophobe hippy or punk pisswipe!!!! i am a 26 year old gutterpunk transsexual with a hippy mother.....i am in dallas.....bash me bitch i dare you....oak lawn area....ask for shadow.

Posted by pissedgutterqueen on 2004-01-15 00:43:38
My Score:
you poser ass bitches F Bitch U!!!! you aint nothin but a stoner republican faciest capitilist conformist......a hippy, punk, or anything else considered to be a free thinking movement...has to be that FREETHINKING.....you cant be a homophobe hippy or punk pisswipe!!!! i am a 26 year old gutterpunk transsexual with a hippy mother.....i am in dallas.....bash me bitch i dare you....oak lawn area....ask for shadow.

Posted by Irritated on 2003-12-31 02:25:14
My Score:
What the hell is wrong with you guys? Why should you care what two consenting adults do in the bedroom? It's none of your goddamn business. I thought this was supposed to be about Austin, not "fagbashing". If there's one thing I can't stand, it's narrow minded fucks like you that burn down abortion clinics, pick on minorities, and support violence as a solution to all problems. I give a message to all these people. FUCK YOU! Besides, alot of you so called "fagbashers" enjoy anal sex with women. How is this different when it involves two men? Perhaps you're all closet gays who are scared someone will out you.

Posted by i hate you, bitch! on 2003-12-20 05:56:36
My Score:
austin is full of bitch ass niggaz. fucking hippie drum circles everywhere. queer ass bitches fucked up on meth. i'm going to burn this place.

Posted by F.B.U. on 2003-11-13 01:40:24
My Score:
To the last fool that posted a comment: Learn to spell--Bitch! It's industry, not industrie. FAGBASHERS UNITE!

Posted by F.B.U. on 2003-11-13 01:40:06
My Score:
To the last fool that posted a comment: Learn to spell--Bitch! It's industry, not industrie. FAGBASHERS UNITE!

Posted by F.B.U. on 2003-11-13 01:38:22
My Score:
To the last fool that posted a comment: Learn to spell--Bitch! It's industry, not industrie. FAGBASHER'S UNITE!

Posted by i wanna be a fagbasher on 2003-09-03 18:50:21
My Score:
yeah, badass! Finally somebody's right on track about this filth-filled hole some call a hippie town. Let's bash these fags right out of this town and let em know we're tired of this queer shit. How can I join you guys whoever you are?

Posted by F.B.U. on 2003-09-03 15:15:33
My Score:
I've lived in Austin for 22 years. It used to be cool; Now it sucks. It's getting just like Dallas, with the amount of traffic and rude people growing daily. All these out of towners are moving here. The real hippies are long gone. Also, the population of queers and child molesters is growing rapidly here. We need to do something about these sick people; FAST! (if you know what I mean). I think you do. As one great punk band stated--ELIMINATION, ERADICATION, ANNIHILATION, of the FUCKING QUEER NATION. FAGBASHERS UNITE!

Posted by TruVaughn on 2003-08-26 03:49:51
My Score:
What I'm typeing has nothing to do with Austin but with TX period..... I just moved to Houston two months ago and so far I've met alot of people and I have to confess that TX is the most closeminded place I ever been in my life and I've been just about everywhere these people don't know the meaning of mind expansion and further more I can't count how many times I've been called a nigger strait out to my face.... All they seem to car about is trucks and killing animals. Take my advise never go to the south.....

Posted by not a hippie haven!!! on 2003-07-23 13:20:55
My Score:
Austin is not a hippie haven. Its the capitol of a mean ass state. Its hot, and it sucks in everyone semi-like-minded in the south. They're not really hippies. They're pretend hippies. Just because you get high and wear hemp doesn't mean you're really a hippie. Avoid Austin if you can. Go to the pacific northwest. Its the real deal. Austin is just a fad.

Posted by BEAN on 2003-02-13 18:10:28
My Score:
HA HA , BY THE WAY MY EMAIL ADDRESS IS MUST OF FORGET TO WRITE IT ON MY MESSAGE. IRIE!!!

Posted by BEAN on 2003-02-13 18:09:03
My Score:
SO I AM NEW TO AUSTIN AND I STILL HAVENT REALLY MET ANY COOL CATS. WHERE DOES EVERYONE GATHER? WHERE ARE MY RAINBOW SISTERS AND BROTHERS? I CALL OUT TO YOU. SOMEONE EMAIL ME AND MAYBE WE CAN COME TOGETHER. LETS GO FURTHER, PEOPLE OF THE SUN.

Posted by thekid on 2003-01-18 12:34:41
My Score:
i visited austin for the first time last summer. i loved it and hope to move there one day. while i was there i saw WSP right outside of austin in a town called bees cave! also right outside of austin is Hippie Hollow....a nude beach opened daily. what a great state!!!! everyone i encountered was friendly!

Posted by Tre M on 2002-09-20 16:41:02
My Score:
As an Austin native (and still residing), move down here and you will not regret it! I've been several places in the U.S. (Chicago being one of my favs) but, and though this may be bias, Austin truly is a wonderful city. It's not huge, but it's big enough to not feel desolate. There are sooo many places to go and things to do, from the greenbelt (sculpture falls being a personal fav) to hamilton pool. We have our fair share of fairly corporate "hippie" stores like Central Market and Whole Foods (with Sun Harvest on the rise), but there are also wonderful places like the Wheatsville Co-op, and Mr. Natural to name a couple. The crowd is very diverse. It has its [gigantic] share of college kids, as well as suits and such. I know I'm supposed to be rating the review, but I just can't help but brag a little more about a small peice of heaven :)

Posted by Tommy on 2002-05-31 23:55:32
My Score:
Great review, you really do Austin it's justice. In response to the previouse response, i agree that "hippie" has become more of a fasion trend then idealism, that kinda gets to me, but the more peace lovers in the world we can get right now the better right? Austin is indeed the live music capitol of the world, and i wouldnt leave here for anything. PEACE ~Tommy~

Posted by bnugent on 2002-05-12 17:06:27
My Score:
Austin is a very laid back town. My only gripe is that "hippy" seems to be a very big fad right now. By that I mean everyone down to your run of the mill corporate businessman is sporting the sandals and hemp-ware. Don't get me wrong, if they're really walking the talk, so to speak, then I've got no problem with them. Other than that, Austin's a pretty hip college town. Besides being beautiful (oh that hill country), it's also a pretty safe place to walk around at night. Overall: Great music, great bars, southern hospitality, and relatively inexpensive living.

Text searchbox
Search For Hotels
Destination
Check-in date
Check-out date
     Categories Menu
· All Categories
· Destinations
· Entertainment
· Hotels
· Restaurants
· Shopping

     Recent Articles
· Los Angeles Top 10 Attractions
· San Diego Attractions
· The Layover San Francisco
· Map of the United States of America
· How I got a USA tax receipt for the importation of marijuana
· An Alternative Guide to New York City
· Charleston, South Carolina, Where America’s Civil War Began
· Castro District, San Francisco
· San Francisco Cable Cars
· Alcatraz Island, San Francisco

     Recent Reviews
· Harbour View Inn
· 82 Queen - Authentic Lowcountry Cuisine
· Great American Music Hall
· Slim's
· The Cliff House
· Bimbo's 365 Club
· Annie's Social Club
· Amoeba Music
· Gatip Classic Thai Cuisine
· Parducci Winery





Page Generation: 0.11 Seconds