Hip Guide to USA > Reviews > Destinations
Write A New Review | Comment on this Review | Printer Friendly Page Print Review

Glastonbury, England

It's such a groovy place. Awesome stores, groovy little restaurants, cool attractions like the Torr and Chalice Well, great places to experience a trip! the people in glastonbury are totally cool... they're all about free speech and love and they're all real friendly. Lot's of activists and Pagans there too. A really hip place in general


More Info:

Address:
City:
Postcode:
Phone:
Fax:
Added: December 8th 2001

Hits: 4608
Language:

  


Posted by avril on 2005-10-03 05:40:35
My Score:
i was in glastenbury england sept 12th 2005, it is the most awesome place i have ever been, the people are kewl, the villiage is beautiful and scenery photographic. Loved the benchers not to mention the store keepers met while on holiday there from the states. I plan to return in early 2006. haight ashbury was the last down to earth place i not have only lived but come to love in all my years.Now there is the UK. hope it will always stay the same in your villiage.you people are the best see you again, thank you for being who you are not what people want you to be.........

Posted by avril on 2005-10-03 05:40:20
My Score:
i was in glastenbury england sept 12th 2005, it is the most awesome place i have ever been, the people are kewl, the villiage is beautiful and scenery photographic. Loved the benchers not to mention the store keepers met while on holiday there from the states. I plan to return in early 2006. haight ashbury was the last down to earth place i not have only lived but come to love in all my years.Now there is the UK. hope it will always stay the same in your villiage.you people are the best see you again, thank you for being who you are not what people want you to be.........

Posted by Karlhippy on 2005-09-22 14:02:05
My Score:
Glastonbury is not the only hippy place, but it is the best that the UK has to offer. Ancient & magic vibes are defo. apparent here. It is the centre of British pagan magic, highly recommended. There is the Avalon campsite for cheap accomodation. The pubs are great. The shops are cool, and the amibence is real. For any of you US hippies, this is where you go - trust me I know

Posted by LONG MAN on 2005-08-03 14:59:38
My Score:
What no Brighton Lanes ?

Posted by sheppie_in_the_US on 2005-04-18 10:07:51
My Score:
There is at least one hipper place in the UK than Glastonbury. It's Pilton, the real home of the Glastonbury Festival. It's only one time a year, OK, but hell, it's closer to Shepton Mallet than Glastonbury. I've been around this fair world. But in the UK there are hardly any places that really have got what it takes outside Glastonbury. Where else can you walk down the street past an Anglican church, and dawdle past shops that are Greek Orthodox, Buddhist, Wiccan, a remarkably straight grocery store and post office, a bunch of crystal new-agey shops, THE best and probably tiniest Doc Marten store in the country, Hare Krishnas, a copper talking to a busker about his didgeridoo music, and seriously ancient buildings. All in less than half a mile. That's cool. There is nowhere else in the UK like it. Except a few fields on the edge of Pilton in summertime.

Posted by growing old disgracefully on 2004-05-08 00:45:00
My Score:
hippy is as cool as you want it to be, whereever you want it to be. find a place and be it glastonbury is a place, whare you are is a place.

Posted by growing old disgracefully on 2004-05-08 00:02:44
My Score:
hippy is as cool as you want it to be, whereever you want it to be. find a place and be it.

Posted by Daron on 2004-02-08 11:44:57
My Score:
There must be another hippy haven at least in the UK :(

Posted by Marc on 2004-02-01 20:39:02
My Score:
Glasto' is SUCH a groovy little place. i live in Somerset but havent yet been to the fest'. The town is beautiful with far out little cafes and shops for everyone. I love shopping in glasto' with my friends but we havent been since last summer, we'll have to go again.
anyway, enough of my inane ramblings, peace, love bananas and sunshine to all who read this, Marc xxxxxx:)xxxxxxxxx

Posted by Rooti on 2003-08-05 17:03:42
My Score:
yeah man i live next to glastonbury but i get the feeling i visit there too much and its losing its touch slightly.. surely there is some other hippy havens somewhere in england? love each other x-x-x

Posted by Free Leveller on 2003-06-20 14:27:12
My Score:
Is Glastonbury the only Hippy haven in the UK??????????????????????????????????????????

Posted by fading_rainbow on 2002-12-11 12:43:18
My Score:
I live right next to glastonbury and I love it! And not just the festival. If you ever get the chance to go. Do! And If you go to chalice well, bottle some of the iron red water, walk up the tor, take some instruments and have a bong through the water. TRUST ME. there is nothing like it! The people are friendly. Last time I did the above, me and my friends took a guitar bongos, digreedoo and sticks. we sat in the toor and we played like we hadnt played before, and people didnt stop dancing! Love and sunshine, h oXoXo

Posted by Claire on 2002-08-14 17:10:05
My Score:
GR8 KOOL WICKED wot more do U want? U can't mant more, so don't b greedy! I love ya all!! HIPPYLAND is mad! LUV and ALWAYS!! ME xXxXxXxX

Posted by billy on 2002-07-05 17:38:06
My Score:
Completely agree. Awesome event, great people, loads to see & do. Already counting down the days til the next one.

Posted by KATIE :) on 2002-03-01 20:02:44
My Score:
I AGREE TOTALLY WITH THIS REVIEW. GLASTONBURY IS A REALLY LAID BACK PLACE!IF YOU EVER GET THE CHANCE TO GO .... DO IT! LOVE KT XXX

Text searchbox
Search For Hotels
Destination
Check-in date
Check-out date
     Categories Menu
· All Categories
· Destinations
· Entertainment
· Hotels
· Restaurants
· Shopping

     Recent Articles
· Los Angeles Top 10 Attractions
· San Diego Attractions
· The Layover San Francisco
· Map of the United States of America
· How I got a USA tax receipt for the importation of marijuana
· An Alternative Guide to New York City
· Charleston, South Carolina, Where America’s Civil War Began
· Castro District, San Francisco
· San Francisco Cable Cars
· Alcatraz Island, San Francisco

     Recent Reviews
· Harbour View Inn
· 82 Queen - Authentic Lowcountry Cuisine
· Great American Music Hall
· Slim's
· The Cliff House
· Bimbo's 365 Club
· Annie's Social Club
· Amoeba Music
· Gatip Classic Thai Cuisine
· Parducci Winery





Page Generation: 0.05 Seconds