Review

Extase

Category: Coffeeshops


The small Coffeeshop Extase is located in the Red Light District, the Oude Hoogstraat. Fresh orange juice, loud music, clouds of smoke and interesting characters abound here! Lots of windows, plants and flowers make this a cheery place. But more comfortable seating would really help out, as the wooden stools get old quickly.

Very good Moroccan Hash. Try the King Hassan if they're still selling it (heard it has a new name, now that King Hassan has died).


More Info on Extase

Address: Oude Hoogstraat 2
City: Amsterdam
Postcode:
Phone: 623-3058
Fax:
Added: July 5th 2001
Reviewer: Skip
Score:
Hits: 23656

  
Visitor Ratings
36 entries.
Smoke:
7.8
Service:
7.6
Ambiance:
6.5
Value:
7.1
Overall:
7.9
Rate This Coffeeshop
[ Top | Back to Review List | Post Comment ]

Comments on Extase


Extase
Posted By: Soonam On: July 19th 2011
My Score:
Just back from holiday in amsterdam. it was awesome and this coffeeshop is best coffeeshop in town and staff were really friendly. Specially guy name Rocky one of the staff ahhh he is so cute. I am so much in love with hime. sigh dreaming about him ;)
Extase
Posted By: Reid On: November 11th 2010
My Score:

Extase
Posted By: SuzzieWho On: November 10th 2008
My Score:
Moi :)
Take care guys


Extase
Posted By: Anonymous On: November 7th 2008
My Score:

Extase
Posted By: Anonymous On: January 8th 2006
My Score:
Just skinned up here had a coffee rather expensive! The atmosphere is nice freindly staff, very small though!
Extase
Posted By: Slowhand On: August 10th 2005
My Score:
Was here long ago - a nice spot
Extase
Posted By: JayBee On: July 13th 2005
My Score:
nice spot to hangout - but it's quite to expense to get drinks there (looza-juice 0,2 l for 3 ?!!!). stuff is nice.
Extase
Posted By: Anonymous On: July 10th 2005
My Score:
Hier gibts alles was man braucht! Den kränkest Shit in da Hood!!!!
Extase
Posted By: da bosssssss On: February 27th 2005
My Score:
My girl, and i had only just got in to our hotel in Oct. 04 and stumbled across the Extase, good service and a decent choice of smoke, I got 3.2 grams of big bud and a bit of zero zero. sweeeeeeet!
Extase
Posted By: Ali G On: January 6th 2005
My Score:
Best place to spend an afternoon waiting for your mates to finish with the ladies in the little red booths!! Spend an age here with Dov chilling and loved it. Been to the Dam many times and never miss out on this place. Shit that you need to buy weed for a seat but the guys there are cool and music is always right for whatever frame of mind your in....hang on...isn't everyone in the same frame of mind??!!
Extase
Posted By: Anonymous On: January 1st 2005
My Score:
Good smoke, great hot chocky's just a bit expensive compared to others, overall though not a bad place. NOTE: Dont go to there 24h cafe recommendation across there road when they close! Indian jugde mental f*#kwits! thought we were Americans and gave us a shit load, maybe fair enough though were aussies... Dont mean to go on those these guys really pissed me off!
Extase
Posted By: Anonymous On: November 22nd 2004
My Score:
Das Klubhaus Backgammon Tour - November 2004. Four English guys playing a weekend tournament [on two boards] were touring some coffee shops to check their welcome. EXTASE - Recommended. The layout suited us well and the service, sounds and stock are good. The AK and Herer are good but the Juicy Fruit was the best we found on the tour! The location is easy and the ground floor views good. A regular daily stop.
Extase
Posted By: Jack The Bulldog On: October 15th 2004
My Score:
We visited the Extase many times during our Honeymoon, and were very satisfied with everything they had to offer. The Purple Haze was amazing and we will be back next year. Recommended to anyone visiting A'dam, and only a few feet away from the Dam Square.
Extase
Posted By: Anonymous On: August 7th 2004
My Score:
Nice Place on a good location. Friendly staff, bit crowded at some times, but i guess thats what you get when selling good stuff. The Lebanese Hash was a killer, strongly recomended.
Extase
Posted By: On: June 18th 2004
My Score:
It was mine & my wife's first time in a Coffee Shop and has set the trend for future visits. Very helpful staff, comfortable, good coffee and weed. It was an excellent experience! We will certainly call into Extase when we revisit Amsterdam.
Extase
Posted By: wendy usa On: May 29th 2004
My Score:
Visited Extase 5/4/04 Hubby and myselfe enjoyed the experance very much! The AK47 is some of the best I have ever smoked, I have smoked weed since 1966 and have had my share of Calif. Green. But never had anything as good as their AK47. Very helpful person who worked there helped us out as it was our first time in coffee shop. And Extase will be my first stop next year loved it!
Extase
Posted By: Anonymous On: April 14th 2004
My Score:
Yameedameen? me and my cutthoats would always walk past it when we roamed the town ya dig? we finally decided to go in and it gave me that meh feelin yadameen? it was aiight but wasn't nothin special. east O-A-K-L-A-N-D
Extase
Posted By: Dano On: March 29th 2004
My Score:
This place is really consistent, good gear, nice seats and none of that 'clubby' feel some coffeeshops have. Not too full of Euro freaks either. What's this 'shifty' atmosphere other posters have mentioned? It's just in the RL district, that's all.
Extase
Posted By: Anonymous On: March 23rd 2004
My Score:
enjoyed my time there , found the people very helpfull , I even left my sweater there and they were kind enough to keep until I returened . It won't be a trip to Amsterdam without a visit to Extasy .
Extase
Posted By: Anonymous On: January 17th 2004
My Score:
nice place to smoke
Extase
Posted By: Anonymous On: November 11th 2003
My Score:
Not bad for the red light area, and the place was quite chilled. Someone else commented on stairs to the toilets too - beware they are tricky!
Extase
Posted By: Raveru4ea On: October 22nd 2003
My Score:
this place blowed donkey nuts
Extase
Posted By: Anonymous On: October 14th 2003
My Score:
Comparable quality and prices to other places we tries but the staff were fantastic. My wife and me were so wasted I couldn't get down the steep stairs to get a refill of their excellent hot chocolate but the guy behind the bar just smiled and said "It's OK man, I'll bring it up to you". It's doesn't get much better than staff who really appreciate how it is to be that wasted!
Extase
Posted By: ms Hood On: October 12th 2003
My Score:
You have to try the alternative "afternoon tea" at The Extase. BIG UP! But remember: You can buy the Space cake but you cant buy respect in the Hood...
Extase
Posted By: Straight from my little g On: October 11th 2003
My Score:
I walked in this place with big expectations to get high. I got some good stuff and went on a fabolus trip. I really enjoyed it. Although, it was kinda cold in there. I needed my jacket on... Music was ok. Space Cake very tasty. Go there if u wanna fly! Big Up!
Extase
Posted By: Bobben!! On: October 11th 2003
My Score:
It was difficult to reach the toilet because of the f***ing stears when I was high. Great place before the red light..... Overall, OK!!
Extase
Posted By: jackie treehorn On: July 5th 2003
My Score:
THIS IS A BAD PLACE TO OVERDO IT-SERIOUSLY SHIFTY DUDES INSIDE AND OUTSIDE CAN ENHANCE A STONED FEAR..ALWAYS SEEM TO HAVE DECENT REGGAE PLAYING THOUGH...
Extase
Posted By: Anonymous On: June 8th 2003
My Score:
The only good things in this coffeeshop is that it's got enough room to breathe & not feel like you're suffocating, and it allows ya to watch people wandering in the Red Light District... but staff is pretty cold, weed is average, seats are uncomfortable...and i had a bad trip in those small toilets with that goddamn green neon: fuck it! I 'd advise you find another one, there are lots of better than this one!
Extase
Posted By: chillumsucker On: May 27th 2003
My Score:
People wonder why the Dutch want to close some coffeeshops in Dam but this is a bloody good reason. A complete toilet. Avoid at all costs, what were you doin in the Red Light anyway?
Extase
Posted By: Anonymous On: May 12th 2003
My Score:
One of those places were you can just watch the world go by. Not for too long though as mentioned before the stools are a bad idea, but at least it kept us awake trying to balance on them. Very welcoming people.
Extase
Posted By: Anonymous On: May 5th 2003
My Score:
that place was pretty cool. i mean i got good shit and everything else who else wouldn't be happy if you got high you give this place good ratings if not then you should of bought enough to get HIGH sucker!!
Extase
Posted By: MellowD On: May 5th 2003
My Score:
While in another coffeeshop a guy who worked in Xtase gave me an unsolicited piece of polm hash that seemed to grow in my lungs and my pipe. The little blob he put in my pipe gave me many wonderful hits. When I went to Xtase the next day to purchase some polm the guy acted as though he didn't know me, so I walked out. But that polm was divine.
Extase
Posted By: Anonymous On: April 27th 2003
My Score:
Really nice.Had a lot of fun!!!
Extase
Posted By: Anonymous On: February 6th 2003
My Score:
A good place where i always enjoy to go when i'm in Dam It is a peaceful place in the center of red light district people are quite friendly and service is good if it is your first time in 'Dam, so just go and sit at the Extase. If you are alone sit next the window and just appreciate people walkin'in front of u while havin' a good spliff :) u will not probably be alone for a long time ! Inconvenient : remember you are in the centrum, so.. it's quite expensive! u must buy 12.5e min Oh! don't forget to have a look to a extraordinary picture which named 'Monkey business' Terrific! Lamda ps:if someone can tell me who done this picture (i don't remember.) please e-mail me This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. Thanx and have good time!!!
Extase
Posted By: mark&anna On: November 17th 2002
My Score:
nice white widow
Extase
Posted By: Anonymous On: September 10th 2002
My Score:
The place sucked. They sold prepackaged bags of weed and they got annoyed when we opened them to smell it. TOURIST TRAP to say the least. Watch your back. Don't know about the hash, but I bet it's high priced. Go to Rick's instead.
Extase
Posted By: Anonymous On: July 24th 2002
My Score:
i went here alone and with my husband, and when i was alone i met some very interesting people. small but nice :)
Extase
Posted By: Anonymous On: February 14th 2002
My Score:
Strange that for such a small place it was the first place I found and went to in Amsterdam - but I feel comfortable there so I keep going back! Nice little place. I always buy good Northern Lights and Silver Haze. Good hash too. Always space to sit - nice to have an OJ and watch the world go by....
Extase
Posted By: Anonymous On: December 10th 2001
My Score:
coffeeshop 'Extase' is small and the interior not dissimilar to many other's that you find squashed in and almost un-noticeable on the shopping streets of Amsterdam. I noticed on my last visit that the menu was identical to that of the Sensi seeds catalogue, with one slight problem. The G-13 that I purchased (for 50fl) was damp and stringy, more sativa than indica, did not burn well and did not get me stoned. The Warlock was reminisent of moldy little pebbles, and the Jack Flash was not Jack Flash. Have not tried the Hash though, sounds good.