Review

Rick's Cafe

Category: Coffeeshops


I have just spent four days appreciating the atmosphere and herbal delights of this and it's immediate neighbor "Wild Style". I can say: Economical Friendly Safe Welcoming.... Need anymore?? I'm back in England now ....Depressed I wan't to go back NOW!!

Note: this review was posted by a visitor to the Hip Guide to Amsterdam. If you want to add your review to our website, just submit it!


More Info on Rick's Cafe

Address:
City:
Postcode:
Phone:
Fax:
Added: March 11th 2002
Reviewer: Mr Ian Tebble
Score:
Hits: 17882

  
Visitor Ratings
36 entries.
Smoke:
8.8
Service:
8.7
Ambiance:
8.7
Value:
8.8
Overall:
8.9
Rate This Coffeeshop
[ Top | Back to Review List | Post Comment ]

Comments on Rick's Cafe


Rick's Cafe
Posted By: Haggis On: July 26th 2012
My Score:
Great place to chill out and immerse to the music. Funny how every song sounds better than the previous one. :)
Rick's Cafe
Posted By: Dude On: April 25th 2012
My Score:
Very good. Wish i get the playlist from Ricks cafe.
Rick's Cafe
Posted By: Anonymous On: March 23rd 2011
My Score:
Keep smoking Rick ;)

Rick's Cafe
Posted By: amsdan On: April 20th 2008
My Score:
My favrroite shop, stop by and see Jim or Marrtin. Wonderfull shop and padio.


Rick's Cafe
Posted By: Anonymous On: May 12th 2006
My Score:
Spent two weeks in The Dam,tried alot of shops out and was quite happy at Rick's Coffeeshop. Prices about the same all over,quaility a plus at Rick's. If ever in Amsterdam again I'll be sure to stop off here again. Was pleased with the service,staff and my friend at the Reefer Counter....Lanse USA
Rick's Cafe
Posted By: Druffi On: February 8th 2006
My Score:
The Best Coffeeshop In Amsterdam!!!
Rick's Cafe
Posted By: Anonymous On: September 19th 2005
My Score:
Great atmosphere altogether! Laid back and comfy..great service and smoke. ill be taking a trip back for definite.
Rick's Cafe
Posted By: Anonymous On: September 13th 2005
My Score:
I Like Ricks, so sez DoctorPissoff
Rick's Cafe
Posted By: tralee boys On: July 26th 2005
My Score:
nice gaff to chill and smoke a few js recommed the crystel
Rick's Cafe
Posted By: NJ_Jimbo On: June 7th 2005
My Score:
The Amsterdam equivalant of a cool NYC dive bar. The Super Skunk was the best skunk I've had in years. The back has booths that look like they came out of old rail cars, complete with little ashtrays in the seats. Great music selection by the bartender. When I complimented her on the album, she played the whole thing.
Rick's Cafe
Posted By: Anonymous On: June 7th 2005
My Score:
arrogant dealer, rip-off & lazy bar staff.. general baad place to go (music is good ) opionion bring your own dope, beer AND TAKE NO MONEY WITH YOU !
Rick's Cafe
Posted By: Anonymous On: June 1st 2005
My Score:
wow
Rick's Cafe
Posted By: Anonymous On: May 23rd 2005
My Score:
He he he ti hi been there done that
Rick's Cafe
Posted By: faz On: May 9th 2005
My Score:
a great cafe to kick back with some great tunes a fat spliff and watch the world go by in the window seats. i will always go back there and great barman even if he was a bit mad in a nice way. and its good beer here by the way
Rick's Cafe
Posted By: tamara On: May 6th 2005
My Score:
exellent i love smoking weed its the best thing in the world
Rick's Cafe
Posted By: Chris & Kerry On: March 7th 2005
My Score:
Quite a strange wee place with seats from old trams or trains with the overhead luggage rack still there, a nice selection of smoke including some dark hash we got which was sweet, bar at the bottom and 2 floors of smoking area and next door to the smart shop were we bought the pholosophers stones ( shrooms ) which were fuckin mental, not as strong as the Thai ones i took last year but perfect for sittin in with a big selections of weed and hash and trippin and gigglin in to small hours.
Rick's Cafe
Posted By: Anonymous On: December 7th 2004
My Score:
top cafe, one of the best places in amsterdam!!
Rick's Cafe
Posted By: Anonymous On: October 5th 2004
My Score:
five days in the dam ended up at ricks about 8 times. guy dealing at night time was top bloke if you go have a chat with him. bar maids were all very fit and pollite (pay particular attention to blonde with silver eye liner). I will go there again top smoke top atmos
Rick's Cafe
Posted By: Anonymous On: September 21st 2004
My Score:
it was my first time in amsterdam(just back at work today) and we just stumbled across ricks at about 1am, excellent spot, went back the next nite. its so chilled out. upstairs looking out onto the canal and loads of other 'happy' people. Ill definetly recommend it and ill be back.
Rick's Cafe
Posted By: Anonymous On: July 31st 2004
My Score:
Great place to sit and chill
Rick's Cafe
Posted By: Anonymous On: May 7th 2004
My Score:
riks was a really sound place to sit and smoke whilst off your nuts on shrooms sitting in that pink cadillac god i want to go back and best of all its in the red light aswell
Rick's Cafe
Posted By: Anonymous On: April 19th 2004
My Score:
god
Rick's Cafe
Posted By: Anonymous On: April 19th 2004
My Score:
really good
Rick's Cafe
Posted By: Anonymous On: February 1st 2004
My Score:
Ricks is one of the most chilled out places in amsterdam. Good drinks, strong weed (selection not so good!) and a quality atmosphere.
Rick's Cafe
Posted By: monty On: January 18th 2004
My Score:
been to riks many times, a cool place, nice smoke and great atmosphere upstairs, a must for any visitor,
Rick's Cafe
Posted By: sshuggyb On: January 18th 2004
My Score:
as soon as we arrived i went and procured a nice bag of jack,one of the infamouse lights(northern)and of course the one and only widow(good lord!!!),me and the missus found it a bit too heavy during the day,and,upon asking the dealer for a lighter smoke he suggested the orange blosom,from that moment on we looked like we had slept with coat hangers in our mouths,long live the hippy:)
Rick's Cafe
Posted By: DoctorPissoff On: September 18th 2003
My Score:
The Zahara Hash is so fuckin' potent, it exploded in my pipe. I never did find my screen. Middle table where the menu is located. I thought Al-qeada hit me.
Rick's Cafe
Posted By: PEER HAAR On: August 25th 2003
My Score:
THIS WAS MY MOST FAVOURITE CAFE OUT OF ALL THE CAFES I VISITED DURING MY STAY IN THE DAM,, BECAUSE THE BARMAIDS WERE VERY FRIENDLY UNLIKE SOME OF THE IGNORANT ONES WE MET. VERY RELAXED ENVOIRNMENT, (BY THE CANAL) GOOD GRASS. GOOD MUSIC. THE REASON WHY I DEDUCT A MARK IS BECAUSE OF THE SMELL IN TOILET. BUT DEFO PLACE 2GO! 2MIN FROM R.L.D
Rick's Cafe
Posted By: Zit On: June 13th 2003
My Score:
Every time I go to Amsterdam I try to keep clear of this place, in the hope that I'll find somewhere with a more laid back, friendly atmosphere, but somehow I'm drawn back to the canalside seating, the upstairs window, the Wickes Witte beer, fabulous Manali Creme, cool and friendly staff. Tired of all the other coffeshops that dress themselves up as some yuppie smokers dreamworld, give Rick's a try. It's more like a pub that sells dope. Proper.
Rick's Cafe
Posted By: Anonymous On: May 29th 2003
My Score:
We go to Dam about twiuce a year and have been there in all seasons...Ricks is a great place to go and sit and watch the world go by just inches from the canal....GFreat on sunny days but gets a bit crowed in the sunny season (In amsterdam...never!!!!) I would thourly recommend it .....I go there first when in town...Wild Style next door belts out some cool metal music for the aging rocker/biker in us all...An i have even see a member or two of the Hells angles loitering about...Must be good. So in short....try it out...you wont regret it!!!
Rick's Cafe
Posted By: Zippy & Kelly On: May 24th 2003
My Score:
Went to Ricks last year for the first time and discovered their superb crystal bud. This warranted a second visit this year. I wasn't at all dissapointed with the smoke but 21 F'kING EUROS for two double jd's is a piss take!!!!! At those prices this is just a place to score some excellent weed.
Rick's Cafe
Posted By: will On: May 1st 2003
My Score:
my dad took us here last summer when i went to amsterdam with my friend and brother. it was the only place we met some americans who we could talk to. the lady is the bar was nice.oh yeah we got really baked
Rick's Cafe
Posted By: DRzaREKTA On: April 17th 2003
My Score:
eh yo ' i have been twice now, and after going to a fair few places, this is definently the best if you want cheap drink (well , better than anywhere else i found , 3pints 5 Euro!!) good variety of john tweed , apart from mr blueberry being missin this time, but got it elsewhere, and for friendly staff too... never too busy , always space to chill , sit up the stairs with a fat ass Jay and watch the world go by , also, if you are like maself, and like the tonic wine,(the bar maid likes it too) you can take it in with you and drink your carry out, also , we were allowed to put our cd's on which i brought over , bit of hip hop for that ass , which is always a bonus.. i tried to go other places too but just kept gettin dragged back by an unknown force cause it was by far the best place.. also handy for mushrooms, shop next door , all in all , just like the glasgow Rangers, SIMPLY THE BEST!! Peace ... ella del coppa del mond di calcio!
Rick's Cafe
Posted By: delboy On: April 3rd 2003
My Score:
went in there on our last day cool cafe rock music comfey seats not bad smoke the owner was quite helpfull smoked smome not bad jamacan grass polm and some red leb would go again
Rick's Cafe
Posted By: Anonymous On: March 10th 2003
My Score:
Very pleasant ambiance--fully-stocked bar faces row of barstools. Narrow walkway past barstools to back room where "dealing" is done; the guy is friendly and knowledgeable enough, but too often is taking a break somewhere and has to be sent for. If the place is completely full, you can go a couple doors down to Susie's Saloon with a pool table, pinball machine, jukebox, and (expensive) coin-op internet machine to smoke (though not to buy).
Rick's Cafe
Posted By: Anonymous On: March 6th 2003
My Score:

Rick's Cafe
Posted By: Anonymous On: February 7th 2003
My Score:
Been to riks a few times used to love it but have just left there and i have tosay the weed was shit to say the least! I actually left the weed on the table you would get more satisfaction smoking paxo.Dont bother wasting your money.
Rick's Cafe
Posted By: honey On: January 12th 2003
My Score:
GREAT PLACE, GREAT MUSIC AND THE BEST WEED!!!!! DIABLO'S IS REALLY COOL NEXT DOOR TO.... BY FAR MY FAVORITE.
Rick's Cafe
Posted By: weed man On: November 11th 2002
My Score:
i love mary jane i will smoke till i choke
Rick's Cafe
Posted By: Anonymous On: September 10th 2002
My Score:
Favorite place to stop in for a smoke and a drink. The folks are nice and very down to earth. The bar area is cramped but no big deal. Upstairs has seating as well as outside. Highly Recommended if you like to smoke in peace and just chill. We watched them card kids and turn them away which we saw no where else which is pretty cool to me. It show's they are not out just to make money. Great place!





Reviews

More All Reviews

See All Amsterdam Reviews